Library Trustees, Board of


  • Board meets at least once every three months
  • Caroline County Library
    100 Market St.
    Denton, MD 21629
 Any final action of a board shall be taken at a public meeting; and the minutes of the Board shall be open to the public.


James B. Bart JohnsonPresidentCitizenSecond
Melissa LeonardVice PresidentCitizenFirst7/1/20


The Board shall be composed of seven citizens of Caroline County; appointments are made from nominees provided to County Commissioner of Caroline County, by the membership of the Board of Library Trustees.


To assist the Commissioners in maintaining full membership, the Board shall, by majority vote, submit names for nominees for vacancies. 

Term of Office

Members serve for a term of five years and until a successor is appointed and qualifies. A member may be reappointed but may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

Charge / Authority

(Maryland Annotated Code, Education §23-403 thru §23-408)
The Board of Library Trustees shall establish and operate the County libraries to provide free services to residents of the county in which it is located and will also determine the policy of the library, adopt reasonable rules, regulations, and bylaws for the use of the library, and the conduct of its business. The Board's responsibilities include preparing the budget and audit as well as supervising all spending.